Medical & Scientific Advisory Board

Medical & Scientific Advisory Board

The mission of the Medical & Scientific Advisory Board (MSAB) is to support the leadership of the National Scleroderma Foundation by advising the Board of Directors on matters requiring scientific judgment as it relates to research and patient care. The MSAB serves as a link between the Foundation and the medical and research communities, and takes a leading role in fostering physician education, mentoring young investigators, and assisting with the development of Foundation programs designed to accomplish these goals.

Steering Committee

Kathryn Torok, MD, Chair
Jessica Farrell, PharmD, Co-Chair, Patient Education Committee
Jessica Gordon, Co-Chair, Patient Education Committee
Laura Hummers, MD, Chair, Physician Education Committee
Richard Silver, MD, Chair, Research Committee
Virginia Steen, MD, Immediate Past Chair



Shervin Assassi, MD
Elana Bernstein, MD
Nunzio Bottini, MD, PhD
Soumya Chatterjee, MD, MS
Robyn Domsic, MD
Tracy Frech, MD
Kristin Highland, MD
Heidi Jacobe, MD
David Leader, DMD
Maureen D. Mayes, MD
Rishi Naik, MD
Janet Poole, PhD, OTR/L
Carrie Richardson, MD
Lesley Ann Saketkoo, MD
Robert Spiera, MD
Elizabeth Volkmann, MD, MS